The WCAG define four categories of accessibility that are crucial to ensuring the experience and content on your website can be enjoyed by everyone. They pose the question: “Is the content on your website perceivable, operable, understandable and robust?”

In other words:
Can it be found?
Does it work?
Does it make sense?
Is it available across a wide variety of commonly used devices, and channels?

Accessibility POUR Image
Click the POUR image for larger size

Provide text alternatives for non-text content
Provide captions and other alternatives for multimedia
Create content that can be presented in different ways, including by assistive technologies, without losing meaning
Make it easier for users to see and hear content
Make all functionality available from a keyboard.
Give users enough time to read and use content.
Do not use content that causes seizures.
Help users navigate and find content.
Make text readable and understandable.
Make content appear and operate in predictable ways.
Help users avoid and correct mistakes.
Maximize compatibility with current and future user tools.